Griquas, Pumas to contest SA Cup final

Griquas will host the SA Cup final this week and face the Pumas in Kimberley following the conclusion of the round-robin phase.

The Griquas confirmed their home final status by beating the Cheetahs 39-17 in Bloemfontein in one of two games played on Friday.

In the other Friday match, the Pumas made sure of their place in the showpiece when they beat the Griffons 43-14 at the Mbombela Stadium.

STATE OF THE EURO CUPS: Sharks get a shot at glory

Unbeaten Griquas finished top of the log with 45 points and with that they earned the right to host the final against second-placed Pumas, who finished second on 41 points.

In the two fixtures played on Saturday’s the Boland Kavaliers won their final outing 48-40 against Eastern Province, while Leopards scored a superb 45-31 away win over the SWD Eagles in George.

In the last fixture of the weekend, Valke defeated Border 38-14 in East London.


Cheetahs (10) 17 – Tries: Daniel Kasende and Rewan Kruger. Conversions: Ruan Pienaar. Penalty: Pienaar.
Griquas (15) 39 – Tries: Cameron Hufke (2), Janco Uys,Sako Makata and Stephan Smit. Conversions: George Whitehead (3) and Lubabalo Dobela. Penalty: Whitehead. Drop goal: Whitehead.

Pumas (17) 43 – Tries: Darnell Osuagwu (2), Ruwald van der Merwe, Kwanda Dimaza, Stefan Coetzee and penalty try. Conversions: Clinton Swart (3). Penalty: Swart.
Griffons (7) 14 – Tries: Ludio Williams and Randy Fillies. Conversions: Danrich Visagie (2).

Boland Kavaliers (24) 48 – Tries: Gavern Skippers, Xavier Mitchell, Gerrit Bester, Marlyn Williams, Carl Francois Truter and penalty try. Conversions: Darian Hock (3).
Eastern Province (13) 40 – Tries: Jay-dee Jooste (2), Sherwin Slater, Aya Oliphant and Temba Boltina. Conversions: Jayden Bantom (2). Penalties: Bantom (3).

SWD Eagles (10) 31 – Dian Basson, Sachin Toring, Mpho Ntsane, Rosco Syster and Clyde Lewis. Conversions: Deon Carstens and Syster.
Leopards (26) 45 – Tries: Henro-Pierre Swart (2), Chris Vermaak, Gilroy Philander, Tjaart Benade, Naiden Jaarts and Charles Williams. Conversions: Williams (5).

Border (14) 14 – Tries: Chuma Biyana and Ryan Maree. Conversions: Merlin du Plessis (2).
Valke (19) 38 – Tries: Luciano Elias (2), Eddie Evans, Zander van der Merwe, Sergio Stalmeester and Valentino Wellman. Conversions: Stalmeester (4).

Photo: Mark Ward/Gallo Images

The post Griquas, Pumas to contest SA Cup final appeared first on SA Rugby magazine.